You are currently trying to access the archived version of the Canadian Federation of Medical Students' website.

Please visit our new website:

CFMS directors may request access to the archived website from the IT officers.


External Committees

Each fall and winter, the Canadian Federation of Medical Students (CFMS) selects a new group of talented individuals to help represent medical students to these organizations, and offers a chance to general CFMS members to be involved in shaping the future of medicine in Canada. 


We are currently hosting a call for a National Officer of Information Technology Jr. 

If you are interested in this position, please find out more about what it will entail by clicking on this position's description/requirements. 

To apply for the IT Officer Jr position, please click here. 

APPLICATION DEADLINE - July 31, 2015 at midnight.  


Any questions about the process can be sent to our Nominations Committee Chairs, John Schulte (This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. ) and Kendra Komsa (This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. ). Successful candidates will be chosen by early May. 


Good luck with your applications and thank you in advance for your volunteer efforts!




Current Representatives

Canadian medical students are represented at many national medical organizations by CFMS Representatives. The organizations (and CFMS Representatives) are listed below:

Canadian Medical Association Board of Directors – Bryce Durafourt (CFMS President)
CMA Committee on Education and Development –  Irfan Kherani (VP Education)
CMA Committee on Health Care and Promotion – Jon Gravel 
CMA Committee on Ethics – Ali Damji
CMA Committee on Political Action – Melanie Bechard  (VP Government Affairs)
CMA Committee on Health Care & Economics – Franco Rizzuti (VP Finance)
CMA Specialist Forum – Helen Zakrzewski
CMA General Practitioners Forum – James Simpson 
CMA Canadian Physician Health Network –  Marie-Pier Bastrash (Wellness Officer)
CMA Physician Health & Wellbeing Advisory Group – Marie-Pier Bastrash (Wellness Officer)

AFMC Resource Group on Physician Health and Wellbeing – Marie-Pier Bastrash (Wellness Officer)
AFMC Electives Coordinators Interest Group – Irfan Kherani (VP Education) 
AFMC Distributed Medical Education Group – Meghna Rajaprakash 

CaRMS Board of Directors –  Irfan Kherani (VP Education), Ian Brasg (past VP Education), Robin Clouston (past CFMS President)

Royal College Education Committee –  Irfan Kherani (VP Education)
Royal College International Conference on Residency Education – Ritesh Gupta 

Canadian Association of Interns & Residents – Anthea Girdwood 

College of Family Physicians of Canada – Irfan Kherani 

Committee on the Accreditation of Canadian Medical Students –  Zamir Merall (Sr.), Jordyn Lerner (Jr.)

Medical Council of Canada – Cynthia Min 
Medical Council of Canada Physician Credential Advisory Committee – 

Canadian Association for Medical Education – Darya Kurowecki
Canadian Association for Medical Education Editorial Board – 

Canadian Healthcare Education Commons – 

Canadian Medical Protective Association –  Jesse Kancir (Past President), Bryce Durafourt (CFMS President)


Meeting reports are available to CFMS members only by email request.